Don’t Get Fired!

22 07 2008
“We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us.”

in·spired
–adjective
1. aroused, animated, or imbued with the spirit to do something, by or as if by supernatural or divine influence
2. something of which I am not

Not by my current situation at least.

I have always been more of an “out the box” thinker. A “to-do” list always seemed to start well and fail, as I would never look at the page again after writing it. Class lecture notes inevitably had more scribbles and doodles on them than actual notes. My mind was always racing, always thinking. How could I escape “to-do” lists and not have to rely on anyones notes but my own? The answer was right there. Quit your job.

So I did.

Senioritis is apparently developed by showcasing a lack of motivation toward studies displayed by students who are nearing the end of their high school careers. Or in my case – my full-time career. Although I have already put in my notice of resignation it does not mean I am immune from being fired on the spot, without notice, without my 2 weeks, without being able to say my goodbyes. This is something I am trying to avoid, but as the days count down it is getting increasingly difficult. Today’s schedule consisted of the following: stroll in late, get a coffee, run into VP who knows you are currently playing hooky from a mandatory meeting, surf other travel blogs, send out a few work emails, conduct phone interview with my movie store manager (see: The Beginning of the End July 2008), answer another million questions about my decision to move abroad and try to prove to everyone around me that I am not experiencing a temporary episode of insanity. Whew. All in a days work.

There was once a time in which I wanted nothing more but to prove myself in the working world. Being a woman in business in tough. Don’t let anyone try to fool you by saying that equal opportunities are awarded now. Lies. Women still must work harder to earn respect. Maybe, that’s where my priorities changed. I was tired of trying to prove myself. Why can’t I just be satisfied in knowing that I AM good enough? At the end of the day I don’t want to wake up and think, “I made Company XYZ $1M!….now what?”

Instead, I want nothing more than to wake up in the morning, cuddle with my big stuffed red elephant (conveniently named Red Elephant), and not have to think anymore about that job that just doesn’t seem to want to end.

Q: Have you ever thought about switching career paths? What has stopped you?

P.S. I will be leaving questions related to my blog at the end of each posting. Feel free to post comments and discuss. I promise I’m not snobby and will read and try to respond to all of you.

Actions

Information

13 responses

23 07 2008
Stevo

It is hard to behave when you know you’re leaving, isn’t it. Stay the course, be good girl for a few more days.

23 07 2008
Banana

@Stevo: Thanx for the support, we all know I need it!

23 07 2008
itinerantlondoner

Try having to behave over the course of 15 months between making the decision to quit and actually going abroad – I’m 7 months in now, 8 months to go and every day is a struggle staying motivated. The only thing that keeps me going is remembering that the reason I’m here in the first place is to save the cash to be able to afford to go!

250 days to go for today (not that I’m counting or anything…)

23 07 2008
Daniel

I’m in the very same boat. I put in my two weeks’ notice last Friday and have little to no motivation to work. It doesn’t help that we’re in a slow time with very few — if any — new projects coming in.

My only real motivation for making it through these final days is the fact that my last day will make it just over a year of employment, which qualifies me to get my unused vacation paid to me. I’m going to need that money for the move.

23 07 2008
Banana

@itinerantlondoner: Hang in there! Maybe you could show me around England when I arrive (assuming you will still be in said England)

@daniel: It’s funny that you say that, as I too just by a couple of months made it over my 1 year and am very much looking forward to the vacation day payout. You blog is being posted to my site as we speak…

23 07 2008
Anthony

I graduated high school 3 summers ago and I’ve lived with Senioritis since the 11th grade, and now that I’m leavin in THREE weeks on my trip, its never been stronger. I’m looking forward to your trip, and will be adding you to my list of bloggers soon! Cheers.

23 07 2008
Banana

@Anthony: I’ve always envied those who can take these expansive trips on their own. Hats off to you, and I will add you to my blogroll so I can follow along with you on your trip!

24 07 2008
itinerantlondoner

Yep, I’ll still be in London – until the end of March 09

24 07 2008
Wendy

Hang in there, you are in the home stretch in terms of leaving a job you hate. Your future plans look great!

25 07 2008
Nomadic Matt

You’ll be fine!! have some fun just make sure you are having a sane amount…

25 07 2008
Anna

@Wendy: thanks for dropping by! 4 more work days to go.

@Nomadic Matt: Sanity was thrown out the window a long time ago! Haha.

27 07 2008
Cuckoo

“Women still must work harder to earn respect.” I agree with you.

Hang in there !! You’ll be fine. Go out and rejuvenate yourself.

I am a traveler and telling you by my experience.

The letter you wrote to travel is fantastic !!

Cuckoo

28 07 2008
Anna

@Cuckoo: Thanks for dropping by! 1 week of work left!

Leave a Reply

