Motorcycle Through The Country

5 08 2008

I wish I had taken a camera. Although it proves quite difficult to hold when you are on the back of a motorcycle.

Geoff had commented on one of my posts once that even though it is wonderful to love travel and explore new things, it is equally as important to love your own country and go out and explore your home town. Nothing rang more true when I went on a 3.5 hour motorcycle ride through the beautiful back country roads here in my beloved country, Canada.

I had never been on a motorcycle prior to this ride, and to be honest – I was a bit scared at first. You can really feel every bump and every turn. My hands were red from holding on so tight. I didn’t dare turn my head or move in case that threw me off balance and I was thrown from the bike. However, when you’re surrounded by such gorgeous scenery and breathtaking views, you can’t help but want to turn your head and stare for just one second longer. So little by little, I started to let go. First one hand grabbed the back of the bike instead of the tight grip around the driver. Slowly, the other hand followed. Second, I started leaning back so I can truly see everything around me. By, the end no hands were needed and I could bask in the vast beauty that is Canada. My friend started sensing my becoming more comfortable and the turns became tighter, the bike drove faster and we were flying.

Much like this motorcycle ride, the move to London is going to seem scary and overwhelming at first, but slowly and surely I can see myself letting go one finger at a time.

I see a Vespa in my future.

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 08 2008
Anthony

Yep, I remember my first ride on a motorcycle. It was in Honduras back in 1997, and it was the coolest thing zipping in and out of traffic and past huge buses. I was holding on to my cousin with a ninja death grip! London is a brilliant city, I think you’ll be just fine.

5 08 2008
Anna

@Anthony: I’m kind of glad we didn’t hit any busy roads and had to zip in and out of traffic…my ninja grip would’ve come out then! P.S. What happened to your Obi Won Kenobi post? It just disappeared?!

5 08 2008
Anthony

Eh, I took it off… think I’ll wait for later this week to repost it along w/something else I’ve got planned. Don’t want to over saturate August before leaving 😉

6 08 2008
Anna

@Anthony: Makes sense…I did enjoy it tho. If Obi Won cant afford to finance his trip…what does that mean for us??? Haha.

Leave a Reply

