Twists & Turns

6 09 2008

First off, let me start by apologizing for not writing over the past couple of weeks.

As it turns out I will now be venturing to England solo in January, to be joined by my best friend Kylie in the April time frame.

In a way this makes me really nervous, as I have never traveled alone before. Because of this, I have developed insomnia. I’m definitely scared to do this trip by myself and a little sad by the change of plan. But as more and more things start to come together, the easier it becomes. Let me tell you what I am scared of: not having a place to live when I arrive, not having any friends or flatmate’s to look for a place with me, not knowing the areas where to look for a flat, not having a job. I think those are justified reasons, no? Hopefully, the program I’m participating in (www.swap.ca) will ease the pain. At least that’s what I’m paying them for anyways! But it will be a growing and learning experience – at least thats what I keep telling myself.

I recently started the paperwork for my Working Holiday Visa – all 14 pages of it. I have to go through interviews, fingerprinting, eye scans – all very James Bond like – and also very fitting.

I can’t really make this post much longer – as I leave for Russia tomorrow. Maybe by the time I come back, I’ll forget about how my heart starts racing whenever I think about living in a foreign country solo, and maybe I’ll forget about the vast amount of money that is being depleted in the process. Probably not though. At least Kylie (bless her heart) is coming to live with me in April. 4 months solo, I can do this.

Actions

Information

6 responses

6 09 2008
Gillian

Of course you can do this! You’ve already made the decision – that’s the hardest part. It will all fall into place, you know that. You’ll find a place to live, you’ll find a job – if they’re not perfect, you’ll find another place to live, another job. You’ll make friends…and be very happy.
PS. Nice website theme 🙂

6 09 2008
Anna

@Gillian – You’re a doll. Really.

9 09 2008
Anthony

C´mon now. You can pull it off. I know exactly what you are feeling, as I had some restless days and nights prior to my trip. You´ll be just fine, trust me!

Oh, and it was: Canada 1 Honduras 2 😉

11 09 2008
Anna

@Anthony- thanks for the reassurance! And are you sure? I thought it was a tie?

11 09 2008
Anthony

Doubt me?! How dare you! lol. They tied jamaica 1-1 in the first game. They lost 2-1 to Honduras though. Chau!

12 09 2008
Anna

@Anthony: Fine, you win. 🙂

Leave a Reply

