MacBooks Are Sexy

28 09 2008

MacBooks ARE sexy.  You cannot possibly disagree with me on this comment. So when I heard rumours about a new MacBook being released on October 14th, which is supposed to be better, faster, stronger AND cheaper, how could I resist?

I was already in the market for a new laptop (my Toshiba satellite is not only on its last legs but is too big and bulky to carry to England).  I was debating whether to stick with a PC or switch to a Mac.  I’m not in University anymore so I don’t do any heavy number crunching.  My computer time is media based with music, tv, blogging, videos, etc.  Obviously a MAC seems better suited for my current needs.  And it’s sexy.  An icon of being “cool” in the twenty-something’s world. (i.e. me) I have always wanted a MAC, but they have always been a bit out of my price range, and I was scared about adapting to the new interface.  Now, with the new generation being released right before my move to London, I say “why not?” These new books are rumoured to have trackpad technology as well.  How cool!

As I was making my decision I was reading the blog  One Giant Step.  Jason had bought an ASUS and sent me a link to this blog – Nomad Backpackers, where they had also bought an ASUS vs. a MacBook for their travels.  So now I was stumped.

MacBooks are pricy and I would cry a lot if mine got stolen.  A lot, a lot!  Yet again, I am not traveling around the world, I am moving to England and am planning on having a few trips during my stay there. (Ok maybe more than a few…weekend getaways here I come!)  I will have a house, and will not be living out of a hostel and using internet cafes.  I won’t be dragging my laptop whereever I go, and it can’t be any heavier than the brick I carry around right now. I want a decent sized screen as I probably will be too cheap to afford cable, so the laptop will be my source of movie/tv watching. (Besides, have you ever seen British TV shows? Apart from Coronation Street, I doubt I’ll be watching too many). Also, I want a decent sized keyboard as I do spend copious hours at the computer. *sigh*  Plus, MacBooks are sexy.

It’s a done deal.  Oct 14th (assuming the rumours are true) I will be the owner of a brand new MacBook.  Being the techy geek I am, I’m pretty excited about it too.  Yipee!

Actions

Information

14 responses

28 09 2008
Anthony

Awesome news because I am looking to get a Macbook when I get back… when I got my imac last year, 45 days later they came out with the newly revamped imacs with a bigger screen and hard drive…won`t be making that mistake again. Speaking of things that get stolen, some jewelry I bought was jacked…. and I think from the very same store i was in… *sigh*

28 09 2008
Gillian

You can’t beat sexy Anna!! You can look at all the techy pros and cons, you can weigh all the price points and weight/size restrictions. But, in the end, you just can’t beat sexy!!

28 09 2008
boydja02

You are making the right choice. If I was going to be in a static location and make day trips or weekend trips, I would skips the ASUS 901 and go with a mac as well.

28 09 2008
Anna

@Gillian: I couldn’t agree more!

@boydja02: I’m glad you agree, I need reassurance I am making the right decision!

28 09 2008
Anna

@Anthony: Technology always moves faster than we can afford.

29 09 2008
Matt

You are WAY off base with your views on British TV… some of the best shows come straight from Britain! The Office for example!

29 09 2008
Anna

@ Matt: Ok I’ll give you the Office…also some good movies originated there…Death at a Funeral was hilarious. Rent it if you haven’t seen it yet.

29 09 2008
Matt

Agreed… saw it a while back… Brit Comedy is great…. There are a lot of shows i miss… if you enjoy shows that poke fun at modern politics… kind of like ‘The Daily Show’… there are some GREAT shows to watch… a personal fav of mine to look out for is called ‘Mock the Week’.

29 09 2008
Anna

@Matt: are you stalking me on here? You posted a comment literally 2 seconds after my reply! I’m telling your father! I’ll def keep my eye out for “Mock the Week,” it seems like something I would enjoy 🙂

29 09 2008
Jenny

Macbooks ARE sexy! I lurve it

30 09 2008
Anna

@Jenny: I hope I will too!

4 10 2008
Geoff

Ahem. There is plenty of great British telly, especially on the comedy side!

4 10 2008
Anna

@Geoff: I’ll give you ‘The Office.’

12 10 2008
Bio-What? « Anna Goes Bananas

[…] Further to my earlier post, Macbooks Are Sexy, its confirmed, there is going to be a new Macbook announced this Tuesday! […]

Leave a Reply

