Reality Bites

8 11 2008

im_alive_02Good news.  I’m alive.  

Bad news.  It’s all starting to sink in.

The honeymoon period of my love affair with England has ended, sort of.  It’s all starting to sink in.  The fact that I may not be making snow angels this winter, and the fact that my mom will not be brining over home made food when my fridge runs dry.  

I purchased a one-way, non-refundable ticket to London, England for January 14th, 2009.  I’m going.  There’s no turning back, and I’m scared.  The reason I have not updated my blog in the past weeks, or even read other people’s blogs, is because I’m a wuss.  I didn’t want to read about other people’s adventures while I sit curled up in the corner of my room breathing into a paper bag.

The fact is, I’ve bought my ticket, I’ve bought my travel insurance, I’ve bought my travel backpack (a Deuter – thank you Barry for your help), my rain jacket, my visa and in return I’ve sold my sanity.  I remember being so excited for this trip, and I know somewhere deep inside I still really am, but it’s being clouded by fears and anxiety.  Reality – I won’t have a job.  I won’t have a place to live.  However, despite all of that, I STILL somehow know that it is the right decision for me to make.

Anyways, enough with that.  Now you all know why I have ignored you all for the past few weeks.  Now I promise that I will spend the next few hours sitting on my computer updating myself on all your blogs and adventures.  Before I ramble on further about my past few weeks I would like to give a BIG shout out to Matt from Nomadic Matt’s Travel Site (you know why buddy, and p.s. we won)

So, what have I been doing the past couple of weeks? Working. Sleeping. Spending money I don’t have (another thing that makes me anxious). Watching WAAAAY too much Battlestar Galactica (don’t diss it if you haven’t watched it…the show is liquid cocaine). Catching up with friends.  And that pretty much sums it up.  Not a bad gig.

My best friend is now home from South Korea.  Unfortunately, for me anyways, she is leaving again in December for a long time.  She loves it there, and I don’t blame her.  On the bright side, the tickets to Seoul from London are cheaper than from Toronto.  

Thank you all for checking in on me! I’m alive, and I plan on being a better blogger.  I promise.  I just need to get to England so something exciting will happen 🙂

Actions

Information

10 responses

8 11 2008
Gillian

It’s not bad to be scared is it? I’m scared a lot! I just keep pushing forward b/c I know that this is what I want to do. Good for you for pushing through and buying the backpack, and the visa and the plane ticket. It’s normal to be scared – if it was easy everyone would be doing it! Chin up…

9 11 2008
Anna

@Gillian: Aww, you always know how to make me smile 🙂

10 11 2008
Geoff

It’s totally normal to get nervous. I’m still four and a half months away from my trip and the nerves are starting to kick in. But that’s part of the excitement too. Life would be dull if we just stayed in our comfort zones all the time, and by challenging yourself you’ll learn and grow and have amazing experiences. Yeah there may be the odd rough bit, but that can just as easily get that at home.

Oh, and I may be biased, but London is the most amazing place in the universe, so you’ve totally made the right decision to come!

10 11 2008
Anna

@Geoff: Haha, I hope I learn to love London as much as you 🙂

10 11 2008
Geoff

Remind me to give you some tips before you get here then!

11 11 2008
Anna

@Geoff: Jan 15 is when I’ll be arriving! I would appreciate all the tips you can give 🙂

11 11 2008
Geoff

What’s your email? I’ll drop you a line

11 11 2008
Anna

@Geoff: Go onto the “Contact Me” section above and send an email to that address. I don’t want to type it out for spamming purposes….I hate spammers. Let me know if that works!

11 11 2008
anthony

You better not crap out! We’ve been waiting too long to see you fly away already.

12 11 2008
Anna

@anthony: LOL, non-refundable tickets! I have no choice now!

Leave a Reply

