Leaving On A Jetplane

9 02 2009

2108604304_c4d4bffe3fWell, its been a while  since we’ve talked, eh?  Thought I would start it off with a bang: I’m flying to London tomorrow!  Can you believe that? After all of the ups and all of the downs, I’m finally doing it.  I can’t say I’m not scared, and I can’t say I’m not going to cry, but I can say that it will be an experience of a lifetime.  With some of my closest friends scheduled to visit me in the April/May timeframe, I’m actually getting excited.  

Obviously, there will be some administrative things to take care of upon arrival (bank accounts, living accommodations, etc), but I have no doubts that it will all fall into place.

If any of you think I’M  brave, I just found out my good friend Barry (shout out, hey!) is jumping on a plane to Columbia for 2 weeks with some Columbian (?) guy he met at a bar.  I’ve been told that 1. It’s not a gay thing and 2. Apparently this Columbian guy is a fantastic Salsa dancer – which is really bad news for my dear friend Barry, because we have been Salsa dancing together…and…ummm….well, I love him anyways 🙂

Anyhoo…my bags are packed. I am definitely ready to go. I even did the early on-line checkin, so there really is no backing out now.  

ALSO, I heard England got some snow.  I’d assume it’s all melted by now, BUT apparently it was a big deal.  Some of my UK friend posting pictures of their cars drizzled lightly by a little snow.  I heard that not only were snowshoe sales up in the UK but people were buying canned goods to prepare for hibernation.  I don’t know if any of that is true, but all I have to say to that is…Grow some balls England!  Wait until you spend 45 minutes cleaning your car of snow and then another 2 hours shoveling your driveway.  And then you wonder why we all drive such big SUV’s and trucks here.  Hahaha. 

Watch out England, Canada is coming!

Actions

Information

6 responses

10 02 2009
Gillian

Yay!! I’m so happy for you! Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! Can’t wait to read your first post from Jolly Olde England!! Congratulations!

10 02 2009
Anna

@Gillian: Yes, I can’t believe its actually happening. My heart is beating quite fast as my plane leaves in 8 hrs.

10 02 2009
Geoff

Congratulations! You must be so excited it’s all happening now. Let me know if you fancy meeting up at some point xx

10 02 2009
Anna

@Geoff: Definitely do. Will email you upon my arrival. I’m staying at the International Students House on Great Portland street, u know it?

11 02 2009
Barry

Hi Anna..

Im only going for two weeks and I wish he was Colombian… (im going with some Israeli guys I met at bar….. still not a gay thing though!)

Anyways, you are plenty brave, but more so, easy to be friends with. You are going to do great. Good on you and let the adventure beckon…

B

12 02 2009
Geoff

I don’t know the International Students House, but I know Great Portland Street – fantastic location, very handy for Soho, Marylebone and Camden, which are all cool areas for various reasons, and just across the road from the lovely Regents Park. Drop me an email when you get here and we can sort something out!

Leave a Reply

