New Years Resolutions

29 12 2008

2158400152_b53b55da9d_mWell, its that time of the year again! The time we all (at least I do) get  excited about a ‘fresh start!’ The time we take bets on how long the resolutions will last…

2008 was supposed to be my lucky year according to the Chinese Calendar since I was born in 1984.  If an outsider looks at the past year of my life they probably wouldn’t say it was so lucky.  However, when I look back on it in retrospect, I think it was.  I made the biggest decision of my life this year – I decided to move to London.  If none of the other things in 2008 resulted in anything good – I know this decision will, and I can’t really ask for more than that.

Which brings me to 2009.  What are my resolutions? Well here they are in no particular order (except for #1 – it seems to be on the top of the list every year…)

  1. Get rid of ‘the last 10lbs’ (ugh!)
  2. Eat healthier (or at all, depending on how my London budget crisis will go)
  3. Take up Pilates (need to get that flexibility back! It currently hurts to bend over)
  4. Stress less! (Deep breathes…1…2….3…4…5…)
  5. Be more selfless (I have what is known as “younger sibling syndrome“)
  6. Travel more (yessssss!)
  7. Write more …and write better!
  8. Meet a nice boy (mmm accents)
  9. Save more (this one is ultra difficult when you’re a big geek like me and have a huge gadget addiction)
  10. Take up kickboxing again
  11. Walk more 
  12. Learn to cook (thank you Nintendo DS for coming up with “Personal Trainer: Cooking” – much love!)
  13. Make great new friends in London (although I’m hoping I don’t have to make this an actual resolution – kinda hoping it will just happen in London)
  14. Be more confident in my decisions (thats a biggie)
  15. Make amazing new memories!

Although I’m sure there are many more, I don’t want to bore you – and I don’t want to over-burden myself. Haha. 

Anyways, I wish you the reader, and all of my friends the best of luck in the new year! May it be the best one yet!

What are your new years resolutions?


Actions

Information

3 responses

29 12 2008
Gillian

My best resolution ever was last year when I resolved to ‘grow some balls’ and finally research moving away. In the end we’re not moving but we will be embarking on our year of travel. I had given up on resolutions but now maybe I believe again!
Good luck keeping your this year! I’m sure it will be the best year yet!
Happy New Year!

29 12 2008
Anna

@Gillian: That is by far the best new years resolution ive ever heard! U can most definitly cross that one off ur list now. 🙂

4 01 2009
Elena

Hmmmm… is it weird that our resolutions are identical. Of course #8 and #13 don’t apply here… but still VERY close….

Well… great minds think alike. I will miss you when you’re in London, but am looking forward to visiting 🙂

Leave a comment